Visiting History at Qutab Minar, Haryana

My love to learn more about the culture and history of the country took me to the next exciting place I longed to visit. The Indian capital is home to a few of the most prestigious remnants of history that traces the ancient royal bloodlines who ruled the nation. I had decided to spend part of an entire day in the presence of the gigantic monument. I left the hotel around ten after breakfast and packed a light snack from the hotel to have it before a late lunch.

qutab minar

Qutab Minar | Image Resource : shalusharma.com/the-qutub-minar/

Armed with my camera I arrived at the monument around eleven. The towering structure is built at the center of a giant complex called the Qutab complex. It houses several other medieval structures and ruins. The towering structure was started by Qutab-ud-din-Aibak and completed by Feroz Shah Tughlaq in 1368. The structure forms the highest minar in India standing at an overwhelming two hundred and thirty eight feet high. The base diameter is fourteen meters and narrows to about three meters at the top. The Qutab Minar was used as a watchtower. It is built entirely of red sandstone and is covered with Islamic scripts from the Quran. The foot of the tower forms the very first mosque that was constructed in India.

I entered through the main gate and wound my way through the complex. The ruins were incredibly photogenic and the lazy afternoon sun caught the shadows beautifully. The main path that led through the complex ended at the minar. The iron pillar is the only artifact in the complex that is engraved with Brahmic inscriptions on it. It predates the Islamic tower and is a metallurgical wonder as such a pillar is a complex formation on account of its era.

qutub minar entrance

Qutub Minar Entrance | Image Resource : liveindia.com/redfort/qm.html

There are several beautiful examples of Islamic architecture that adorn the tower. I had a full view of the eccentricities that were built out of stone at the Qutab Minar. The balcony is a place where the view is breathtaking and I can guess why it was used as a watchtower. The place is ideal for a small picnic and I even picked myself a few souvenirs. The evening constitutes a more somber appearance and the tower is illuminated for tourists.

One thought on “Visiting History at Qutab Minar, Haryana

  1. Pingback: Visiting the Sights of Delhi – Part 1 « Discover the Orient

Leave a comment