Witnessing The Magnificence of Simhachalam Temple

One particular thing that sets apart the temples in the Southern parts of India from the rest is their design. The Kalinga architecture design has always attracted the historians and archeologists from different parts of the world. I was in Visakhapatam, and it was my sixth day here. Till now I haven’t been to any temple that features Kalinga architecture. So, the Simhachalam Temple Visakhapatnam was my obvious choice as my next destination.

Simhachalam Temple

Simhachalam Temple | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

Simhachalam Temple is located on the beautiful Hill top, which in turn is in Simhachalam. Yes, until one guy from the lobby told me, I didn’t know that Simhachalam is a suburb place in Visakhapatnam. Just like the last few tourist spots, this was also located far away from the hotel. Being alone in a new city was not an issue for me, because I have done a lot of travelling in the last few years.

As per the lobby guy, the distance between Rushikonda and the Simhachalam Temple is almost 25 kms. He also shared some details about how to get there if you are at the bus stop. Well, you can hop into the APSRTC bus, from the Dwarka Bus Station. But, for me hiring a cab was the best option. Fortunately, I had the contact number of the chauffer who took me to Yarada beach yesterday.

Architecture of Simhachalam Temple

Architecture of Simhachalam Temple | Image Resource : blogspot.com

I left the hotel room at about 10 in the morning, and I was certainly pleased to find that the cab was already waiting outside. Wasting no time, I jumped inside the cab and the ride was pretty smooth. In half an hour, I was finally there. Locating the Simhachalam Temple is quite easy, as the nearest landmark is the Police Station.

Lord Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swami

Lord Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swami | Image Resource : vizaginfo.com

The temple was amazingly marvelous and it definitely represented on the finest works of Kalinga architecture. It was constructed in the 11th century, and it is dedicated to one of the avatars of Lord Vishnu, Narasimha. One of the priests told me that the temple by built by the King Sri Krishnadevarayam. Most of the time I spent there was behind examining the inscriptions on the temple, which were dated back to 11th Century. At the end of the day, I was tired, but at peace.

Leave a Reply

