Getting Closer to the Wildlife at Indira Gandhi Zoological Park

Indira Gandhi Zoological Park

Indira Gandhi Zoological Park | Image Resource : etouristhub.com

On the first day of my trip of Visakhapatnam, I decided to stay in the hotel room and spend the evening at the beach just in front of it. On the 2nd day, my mind and body were completely in sync and absolutely revived. Being a lover of nature and wildlife, I chose Indira Gandhi Zoological Park as my first spot. It is located amidst the dense Kambalakonda Reserve Forest. Since the distance between Rushikonda, where the resort is located, and the zoo is approx 9 Kms, so I decided to hire a cab.

Indira Gandhi Zoological Park Visakhapatnam

Indira Gandhi Zoological Park Visakhapatnam | Image Resource : tourmet.com

Fortunately, the resort arranged me a cab, and I was ready to head towards my first destination in Visakhapatnam. The cab drove quickly through the NH 5, and within 15 minutes I was there. As a matter of fact, the zoo is just 4 kms far from the railway station. In addition, one can also catch a bus (APSRTC) from the RTC Complex. Well, this information was provided to me by the driver of the cab.

Considering the popularity of the zoological park, I was expecting good amount of tourists at the spot. Well, my expectation proved right, and the crowd was certainly overwhelming. After purchasing an entry ticket, which was only of 10 INR, I stepped inside the zoo. From the informative signposts placed at the entry of the zoo, I came to know few things about it.

White Tigers at Indira Gandhi Zoological

White Tigers at Indira Gandhi Zoological Park | Image Resource : wordpress.com

It was the year 1977 when Indira Gandhi Zoological Park was opened, by Indira Gandhi herself. Secondly, it is spread across an area of 625 acres, or 253 hectares. Somewhere it was also mentioned that to see the entire zoo, one would have to walk up to 4 kms. Well, so I was prepared too. I carried a bottle of water and few snacks to power me up in case I feel tired.

Peacocks Enjoying the Chilly Weather at Zoological Park

Peacocks Enjoying the Chilly Weather at Zoological Park | Image Resource : thehindu.com

As I marched into the zoological park, my camera captured numerous animals, birds, and creatures, such as the Indian Tiger, Lions, Bennet, Panthers, Himalayan Black Bear, Giant Squirrel, Baboons, Peafowl, Golden Pheasant, Red Jungle Owl, and Doves. It took me about 3 hours to cover the entire zoo and to be quite frank I was quite pleased and happy in the end. Finally, I hired a cab and went straight to my hotel.

Leave a Reply

