A trip to Triveni Sangam in Allahabad

Around 6 AM on Thursday morning, I hired a cab and was on my way to Triveni Sangam. Triveni Sangam means the confluence of three rivers and in this case, it is the merger of the Ganges, Yamuna and the River Saraswathi (which is not seen and said to be mystical) into one. I had my tea and requested the hotel staff to pack me a parcel of breakfast.

I was at the destination at 6.30 AM and was just in time to witness the beautiful sunrise. The calm and the quiet filled me with serenity and the peace that I got from this place is nothing that I could put down in pen and paper. The rivers seemed to stretch into a never-ending space and the red and orange hue in the skies cast by the rising sun was very mesmerising.

The greatest importance of Triveni Sangam is the Maha Kumbh Mela that occurs in this place every 12 years. During this time, there is a huge gathering of the people; in fact, uncountable numbers, in lakhs, come to bathe in the holy rivers. The confluence of the blue-green Yamuna River with that of the “White” river Ganges is a sight that no one should miss.

triveni sangam allahabad

Triveni Sangam Allahabad | Image Resource : en.wikipedia.org

The religious and the mythical story behind the Sangam is that this is the place where the nectar fell out from the hands of the “devas”. Therefore, taking a dip will wash away all the sins of the person bathing there. While there, I could see several people performing rituals with the help of the priests. I wanted to go near them and see the way they performed the rituals. Therefore, after bargaining a lot with a particular boatman, I took a ride in the boat.

More than the rituals, I enjoyed the scenic beauty of the entire place from the boat. I went almost to the middle of the river. Once back on the shore, I purchased several curios as a memento and being good at bargaining, I got several of them at reasonable rates. Or so I think! Though I did not take a dip in the waters, I did stand in knee-deep water for almost 15 minutes. Oh! That was such a refreshing experience!

 

Leave a Reply

